My first six months being a graduate trainee

Standard

It’s been over six months since I moved to London, started my masters and my new job as a graduate trainee.

After returning from study school I got stuck into my first module as well as starting my new job.  I quickly got into my role, although most of it was new to me.  Everything is internet, web and e-resources so it was a bit of a learning curve but got the hang of it soon enough.  It is unlike any more ‘traditional’ libraries that I have worked in before.  We are constantly trying out new ideas, working on marketing our library and other information services and coming up with new research to do.  I am particularly enjoying the research side of my job.  We recently conducted a survey on the information needs of health practitioners and their journeys in seeking information, it was really interesting and I’d love to look into it further on a broader scale.  I have also been attending conferences and hope to attend HLG 2012 in July.   My work are very understanding and encouraging when it comes to studying so they have tried to help me where they can and given me some study days which has been great.

Last year me and some other graduate trainees met up for drinks in London (whilst also participating in libchat!).  It was really lovely to meet other people in similar positions as me and to share experiences.  I sadly missed the second meet up earlier this year because I was ill, but hopefully there will be another one soon.

Studying is also going well so far (i think….!)  I enjoyed the first module, which was about information and the society, and got top marks for my essays (believe me, that is a first time for me) and feel quite proud about that.  The second module was a bit more difficult, it was business and management based which isn’t necessarily in my interests but I can understand why were are doing and it gave me more understanding of the roles of a manager.  I am still waiting to hear back my results for that module so fingers crossed! The good news is that I’ve made it to the second study school in April so still on course for completing in two years.

So far I have found the distance learning course fine – sometimes working full time and studying can be hard going, particularly near to deadlines, but I think it will all be worth it.  I was concerned about feeling isolated but the moodle discussion forums with Aber have been really good.  Most of the time any questions or fears I have have already been voiced by someone else which is always reassuring and lecturers have been really good in responding to questions quickly.

 

All in all, I am looking forward to the next six months!

 

 

Leave a Reply

